Menai Heritage are pleased to announce the publication of our latest book. The Piers and Piermasters of Menai Bridge was written by Menai Heritage trustee Julie Stone, and was designed and prepared for publication by another trustee, Warren Kovach.
Located on the shores of the Menai Strait, Menai Bridge town (also known as Porthaethwy) has always had a close connection with the sea. Before the Menai Suspension Bridge was opened in 1826 it was the landing place of one of several ferries across the Strait. Afterwards, as the town grew, increasing numbers of ships began landing, first carrying imported goods, then growing numbers of tourists. The book The Piers and Piermasters of Menai Bridge tells the story of the development of the piers.
The story begins with the Davies family, who developed the waterfront and built up a sizable fleet of ships to carry slates and emigrants to America, and timber and other goods back. It takes you through time to the three generations of the Hughes family, who were the last piermasters on Prince’s Pier.
This 40 page book is richly illustrated and introduces the reader to the many people who have worked and played on the piers and promenade. It is the result of a community project, fronted by the author Julie Stone, which brought together many descendants of the piermasters and others who used the piers, to explore their history and family stories.
The book costs £4.50 and can be purchased online in our shop, http://menaibridges.co.uk/online-shop/online-shop-books/#piers. It can also be purchased at our office in the Thomas Telford Centre, Menai Bridge (across from Waitrose) during opening hours (9:30-12:30, Mon., Wed., Thurs. & Fri.).